October 17, 2021, 9:18 pm

Notice :
Website update in progress. Soon we will have a new look....

Mamata won by a record margin

File image.
International Desk /

Mamata Banerjee has won the Bhabanipur by-election of the West Bengal Assembly by a record margin. He defeated his nearest rival BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal by a margin of 58,389 votes.

Counting begins at 8 a.m. local time on Sunday. Mamata was ahead from the beginning of the counting of votes. As the count progresses, the gap between Mamata’s votes widens. A total of 21 rounds of votes were counted. At the end of the count, Mamata received more than 82,000 votes. His rival BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal got more than 25,000 votes.

Mamata had contested the Nandigram constituency of East Midnapore in this year’s West Bengal Assembly elections. His opponent was Subhendu Adhikari, who joined the BJP from the Trinamool. Mamata lost to Shuvendu by 1,956 votes.

Although Mamata lost in Nandigram, the Trinamool Congress made her the chief minister in accordance with the constitution. The constitutional rule is that Mamata must win one of the assembly seats in the state within six months.

Shobhandev Chattopadhyay, the elected Trinamool leader of Bhabanipur, resigned to win Mamata from Bhabanipur constituency. The Bhabanipur seat became vacant. Mamata contested the by-election of that seat.

The by-election was held on September 30 in Bhabanipur. Mamata won this seat in the 2011 and 2016 assembly elections.

12 candidates contested in the by-elections. But the main battle is between Trinamool candidate Mamata and BJP candidate Priyanka.

The grassroots were 100% optimistic about the victory. They were saying that Mamata would win the by-election. He will be in the chair of the Chief Minister.

On the other hand, the BJP has been saying that Mamata may not be as she thinks. The reckoning of the grassroots can be reversed.

During the campaign, the Trinamool repeatedly announced that it would lose the Mamata to BJP candidate Priyanka in a record number of votes in this by-election. Mamata will win by a margin of at least one lakh votes.

But the turnout disappointed the grassroots. In the by-election of Bhabanipur constituency 57 percent votes were cast. 2 lakh 8 thousand 456 voters in this constituency.

After the vote, Firhad Hakim, chief administrator of the Calcutta Municipal Corporation and state transport minister, said Mamata would win by a margin of 70,000 votes. In the end, Mamata won by a margin of about 60,000 votes.

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

© All rights reserved © 2019 thedailymorningglory.com
Design & Developed BY website