April 16, 2024, 11:17 am
Notice :
Wellcome to our website...

Voter materials are going to the center of Gaibandha-5 seat by-election

Reporter Name 107 Time View
Update : Tuesday, January 3, 2023

Gaibandha Representative/

Voting will be held tomorrow Wednesday (January 4) through EVMs in the much-discussed Gaibandha-5 seat by-election. For this purpose, voting materials are being sent to the centers.

On Tuesday (January 3), the in-charge presiding officer, assistant presiding officer, pooling officer, policemen, members of Ansar VDP appeared at Phulchari and Saghata upazila parishads of the constituency. They are taking voting materials from center to center.

According to Gaibandha district election office sources, 145 presiding officers, 952 assistant presiding officers and 1904 polling officers will work as polling officers in the election. Gaibandha-5 (Saghata-Phulchhari) Constituency consists of a total of 17 unions including Saghata Upazila 10 and Phulchhari Upazila 7. There are a total of 1 lakh 14 thousand 673 voters in Phulchari upazila and 2 lakh 25 thousand 70 voters in Saghata upazila. In these two upazilas, 1 lakh 69 thousand 583 male voters and 1 lakh 70 thousand 160 female voters.

4 candidates contested in this by-election. They are former president of Bangladesh Chhatra League Mahmud Hasan Ripon (Boat), presidium member of Jatiya Party (JAP) AHM Golam Shahid Ranju (Plow), alternative Bangladesh candidate Advocate Jahangir Alam (Kula), independent candidate from Awami League. Syed Mahbubur Rahman (Truck).

Alhaj Nahiduzzaman Nishad, an independent candidate of Gaibandha-5 (Saghata-Phulchari) seat, announced his withdrawal from the election after holding a press conference at Bogra Press Club on 25th of December last year.

Abdul Mottalib, Assistant Returning Officer and Gaibandha District Election Officer in charge of this by-election, said that all preparations have been completed so that the polling is held in a fair and peaceful environment.

It is to be noted that the 33, Gaibandha 5 seats became vacant after the death of former Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Mia on July 23. As a result, the Election Commissioner (EC) announced the closure of the allegations of various irregularities during the voting in this parliamentary seat on October 12. According to the commission’s decision, polling will be held tomorrow on January 4.

আপনার মতামত লিখুন :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More News Of This Category