June 24, 2024, 12:17 pm
Notice :
Wellcome to our website...

ICC Cricketer of the Year shortlist released

Reporter Name 140 Time View
Update : Friday, December 30, 2022

Sports Desk/

The shortlists for the ICC Awards for Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year, Men’s ODI Cricketer and Men’s Cricketer of the Year have been released. At the same time, the organization has also released the shortlist of Male Test Cricketer of the Year, Male ODI Cricketer and Male Cricketer of the Year.

The ICC announced the names of the shortlisted male and female cricketers of the year on Friday.

England’s Ben Stokes, Pakistan’s Babar Azam, Zimbabwe’s Sikander Raja and New Zealand’s Tim Southee are in the running for the ‘Sir Garfield Trophy’ for boys cricketer of the year.

Women’s cricketer of the year recognition ‘Rachel Hayo Flint Trophy’ is in the fray – England’s Nat Seaver, India’s Smriti Mandhana, New Zealand’s Amelia Carr and Australia’s Beth Mooney.

Under the leadership of Ben Stokes, the English have won 9 out of 10 Tests. Apart from leading from the front, this English all-rounder scored 870 runs and took 26 wickets. Apart from that, he had a big contribution in England’s T20 World Cup victory. Stokes collected 1066 runs in 28 matches in three editions and took 33 wickets.

However, Pakistan captain Babar Azam is leading in terms of runs. He has 2598 runs in three editions. Scored 8 centuries. He averaged 1184 runs in 9 Tests with 4 centuries at 69.64.

Sikandar Raja of Zimbabwe has also performed exceptionally well this year. This all-rounder collected 1380 runs in 39 matches in three editions and took 33 offspin wickets.

Kiwi pacer Tim Southee, who is in the race for the man of the year, has taken 65 wickets in 31 matches in three editions this year.

Meanwhile, the performances of the four nominees for the Rachel Hay Flint Trophy were also excellent. Seaver, who led the team to the final of the Women’s ODI World Cup this year, scored 1346 runs in all editions and took 22 wickets. This year Mandhana scored 1290 runs in 38 matches. Carr has taken 30 wickets along with 1003 runs this year. And Mooney has scored 915 runs over the years.

আপনার মতামত লিখুন :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More News Of This Category