December 3, 2020, 1:20 pm

Notice :
Website update in progress. Soon we will have a new look....

‘Citizens’ protest’ in Sylhet against rape, killing in police custody

Sylhet Bureau : One indiscriminate killing after another is taking place as the culture of impunity prevails in the country. A ‘Nagarikbandhan’ program was held in Sylhet on Monday afternoon to protest the mass beating and arson in Lalmonirhat. The protest was organized by the Citizens’ Platform for Drought Prevention, a protest against recent irregularities, including rape and death in police custody. Leaders of various political, social and cultural organizations took part in it.

At the same time, the speakers said, a culture of fear has been introduced all over the country. People are afraid to talk now. Everyone is afraid of who will be attacked. People want relief from such a stuffy situation. That is why everyone has to be tolerant. The law should not be taken into one’s own hands by incitement and rumors.

Shahjalal University Professor. Abdul Karim Kim, the organizer of ‘Drought Prevention’, gave a welcome speech at the rally presided over by Nazia Chowdhury and conducted by Debashish Debu during ‘Nagkirbandhan’.

Workers Party Sylhet President Sikandar Ali, CPB Sylhet General Secretary Anwar Hossain Sumon, Sammilita Natya Parishad Sylhet President Mishfaq Ahmed Mishu, Bangladesh Puja Udjapan Parishad Central Assistant General Secretary Mrityunjay Dhar Bhola, Udichi Sylhet President Enayet Hossain Manik, Sammilita spoke in solidarity.

Natya Parishad Sylhet General Secretary Rajatkanti Gupta, Imja Sylhet General Secretary Sajal Chhatri, Basad Pathchakra Forum Organizer Sushant Kumar Sinha, Poet Abid Faisal, Poet Pranabkanti Dev, Women Leader Indrani Sen Shampa, Environmentalist Abdul Hai Al Hadi, Student Union Sylhet President, Student Union Sylhet Sylhet President Sanjay Das, our organizer Ashraful Kabir, Satyajit Chakraborty, Rajib Russell, Mahbub Russell, Niranjan Sarkar Apu, Hitangshu Kar Babu and others.

Also present were mass music artist Anshuman Dutt Anjan, Ratan Dev, former president of student union Sylhet Nabil H, general secretary of Walkers Party (Marxist) Sylhet Dr. Haridhan Das, cultural activist Kartik Pal, Ashraful Islam Oni and others.

Please Share This Post in Your Social Media

© All rights reserved © 2019
Design & Developed BY website